This year we take great pleasure in paying tribute to one of the most fascinating directors of our time, New Zealander Jane Campion. Her most recent film, In The Cut, a magnificent, disturbing and exciting film, starring Meg Ryan, has been chosen as the closing night feature.

For the duration of the festival, Saint Tropez, a long-time home of cinema and image, will be the place where audiences discover a cinematography of surprising variety, ranging from romantic bitter-sweet comedies to more disturbing works in the style of Stuart McKenzie's For Good, a film depicting the feelings of fascination and ambivalence which can arise from meetings with a criminal.

Artistic director, Anne Demy-Geroe of the Brisbane International Film Festival, will preside over the jury selecting the Best Australian or New Zealand Short Film and awarding the Nicolas Baudin Prize, generously supported by Terra Australis 2001.

The premiere of Lucinda Clutterbuck's Les Contes des Animaux in the ‘Antipodes Junior’ section provides an ideal example of the opportunity for young audiences to learn more about Australia and New Zealand and their people.

New to this year's festival will be the screening of films in DVD format. Sandra Sciberras' independent film Deeper Than Blue will be presented in this format, which has been chosen for commercial distribution in Australia. Another addition will be the screening of films shot in the new 50 minute format. In this genre, Martha’s New Coat by Rachel Ward and Preservation dby Sofya Gollan, provide two excellent examples.

Artists exhibiting an inspiring collection of work at the festival include New Zealand painter Douglas MacDiarmid and Australian painter Peter Griffen. Australian photographer Nathalie Latham will also present portraits of Australian artists living in Paris.

Finally, Sue Brook's passionate, intense and often surprising road movie, Japanese Story starring Toni Collette, has been chosen to open the "Fifth Rencontres Internationales du Cinema des Antipodes."

Happy festival.

Bernard Bories
President of Cinema des Antipodes

C’est un grand plaisir que de pouvoir rendre hommage à l’une des réalisatrices parmi les plus fascinantes et passionnantes de notre époque, la Néo-zélandaise Jane Campion dont nous avons le privilège de présenter en clôture sa dernière oeuvre, In The Cut, un film magnifique, dérangeant, passionnel, avec une Meg Ryan inoubliable.

Mais Saint-Tropez, terre de cinéma et d’images, pourra pendant cette semaine aux Antipodes partir à la découverte d’une cinématographie d’une grande variété où se côtoient des comédies romantiques, douces amères et acides et des films plus dérangeants à l’image de For Good de Stuart McKenzie, un film sur la fascination et l’ambivalence que peuvent générer certaines rencontres avec un criminel.

Le Jury, présidé par la directrice artistique du Festival International du Film de Brisbane, Anne Demy-Geroe, aura le dur privilège de décerner le Prix Nicolas Baudin du meilleur court-métrage des antipodes crée l’an dernier avec le soutien de Terra Australis 2001.

Quant au jeune public, à travers la section Antipodes Junior, il pourra partir à la découverte du monde et des antipodes avec entre autre l’avant-première du superbe film d’animation de Lucinda Clutterbuck Les Contes des Animaux.

Nouveauté de cette 5ème édition, nous vous présenterons un film indépendant Deeper Than Blue de Sandra Sciberas qui sera projeté en DVD, format dans lequel il sera distribué commercialement en Australie. Autre nouveauté, l’importante production de films d’une durée de 50 minutes dont nous vous montrerons deux magnifiques exemples Martha’s New Coat de Rachel Ward et Preservation de Sofya Gollan.

Enfin, vous pourrez admirer les oeuvres du grand peintre néo-zélandais Douglas MacDiarmid et retrouver le peintre australien Peter Griffen, venu en avance s’inspirer de la beauté provençale. Quant à Nathalie Latham, ses photos nous introduiront dans le Paris préféré des artistes australiens.

Mais c’est avec l’avant-première de Japanese Story de Sue Brooks, un road movie passionnant, intense et surprenant que nous lancerons ces 5ème Rencontres Internationales du Cinéma des Antipodes de Saint-Tropez.

Bon Festival,

Bernard Bories
Président de Cinéma des Antipodes