Australia - United States / 2002 / 117 minutes / 35mm / Colour / English with French subtitles
Director: Gillian Armstrong / Screenplay: Jeremy Brock, based on the novel by Sebastien Faulks / Cinematography: Dion Beebe / Editor: Nicholas Beauman / Music: Stephen Warbeck / Producer: Sarah Curtis, Douglas Rae / Cast: Cate Blanchett, Billy Crudup, Michael Gambon, John Pierce Jones, John Benfield.
In 1942, during the Second World War, Charlotte Gray, a young Scottish woman from Edinburgh, goes to London to help with the war effort. There she meets Peter Gregory, an RAF pilot, and falls in love with him. When he is reported missing after his plane is shot down over France, Charlotte, wanting to find him, agrees to join the Secret Service and is recruited to work with the French Resistance under a new identity, Dominique.
Gillian Armstrong was born in 1950 in Melbourne, where she went on to study theatre and cinema and presented educational and industrial films. After having directed a number of short films (of which The Singer and the Dancer won an award) and documentaries, she agreed to direct My Brilliant Career in 1979. With this, she became the first Australian woman since the 1930s to direct a feature length film. From then on, she divided her time between Australia and the United States, directing most notably Mel Gibson (Mrs Soffel) before her first international success in 1994 with Little Women.

CHARLOTTE GRAY | MERCREDI 15 - 20H30
Australie – Royaume Unis – 2002 – 117 minutes– 35mm – Couleur - VOSTF
Réalisation : Gillian Armstrong - Scénario : Jeremy Brock d’après le roman de Sebastien Faulks - Photo : Dion Beebe - Montage : Nicholas Beauman - Musique : Stephen Warbeck - Production : Sarah Curtis & Douglas Rae - Interprétation : Cate Blanchett, Billy Crudup, Michael Gambon, John Pierce Jones, John Benfield
En 1942, durant le second conflit mondial, Charlotte Gray, une jeune Écossaise d’Edimbourg, se rend à Londres pour contribuer à l’effort de guerre. Là, elle fait la rencontre de Peter Gregory, un pilote de l’Armée de l’air britannique, dont elle tombe follement amoureuse. Mais ce dernier est porté disparu après que son avion a été abattu au-dessus du sol français.
Charlotte Gray entre alors en contact avec un agent des Services secrets qui lui propose d’intégrer les rangs de la Résistance française sous une nouvelle identité, celle de Dominique.
Gillian Armstrong est née en 1950 à Melbourne où elle fait des études de théâtre et de cinéma, et devient monteuse de films éducatifs et industriels. Après avoir réalisé de nombreux courts (dont le primé The singer and the dancer) et documentaires, elle signe en 1979 My brillant career. Elle devient ainsi la première Australienne à avoir réalisé un long métrage depuis les années 30. A partir de là, elle partagera sa carrière entre l’Australie et les Etats-Unis, dirigeant notamment Mel Gibson (Mrs Soffel) avant de connaître son premier grand succès international, en 1994, avec sa version des Quatre filles du docteur March.