PRESERVATION
| TUESDAY 14 - 18.00 | THURSDAY 16 - 14.30
Australia / 2003 / 55 minutes / 35mm / Colour / English with French subtitles
Director: Sofya Gollan / Screenplay: Sofya Gollan / Cinematography: Cordelia Beresford / Music: Amanda Brown / Editing: Simon Marin / Producer: Della Churchill / Cast: Jacqueline McKenzie, Jack Finsterer, Fiona Martinelli, Simon Burke, Kris McQuade.
Daphne no longer believes in love. She would no longer believe in anything if she didn’t keep in touch with her father via the medium of … a telepathic photographer. Working as a taxidermist in Sydney during the 1890s Depression, Daphne advertises for a female tenant to help make ends meet. However, only Nick, a labourer responds. With heavy-lidded eyes and a husky voice, Nick has the look of a man with a secret.
A graduate of both NIDA (the National Institute of Dramatic Art) and AFTRS, Sofya Gollan began her career as an actor before directing more than a dozen short films, earning her international recognition. Preservation is part of a new Australian Film Commission initiative and marks the debut of her career as a director of feature films. Deaf since birth, Sofya directs films that are as beautiful to watch as they are to hear..

PRESERVATION | MARDI 14 - 18H
Australie – 2003 – 55 minutes - 35mm – Couleur - VOSTF
Réalisation : Sofya Gollan - Scénario : Sofya Gollan - Photo : Cordelia Beresford - Musique : Amanda Brown - Montage : Simon Marin - Production : Della Churchill - Interprétation : Jacqueline Mckenzie, Jack Finsterer, Fiona Martinelli Simon Burke, Kris McQuade
Daphné ne croit plus à l’amour. Elle ne croirait plus à rien d’ailleurs si elle n’avait pas ses messages que son père lui envoie d’outre-tombe par l’intermédiaire d’un photographe télépathe. Elle dirige sa propre affaire de taxidermie dans le Sydney des années 1890 en pleine dépression et pour joindre les deux bouts, elle décide de prendre un pensionnaire : un voyageur tranquille qui a perdu sa ferme à cause de la sécheresse.
Diplômée de l’institut national d’art dramatique, Sofya Gollan a débuté en tant qu’actrice pour ensuite réaliser une dizaine de courts-métrages qui lui valurent une reconnaissance internationale. Preservation est son premier grand film et marque le début de sa carrière en tant que réalisatrice de longs métrages puisqu’elle travaille déjà sur deux autres projets. Sourde depuis sa naissance, Sofya réalise des films qui sont aussi beaux à regarder qu’à écouter.